How I Saved $1390 with Wood Pellets

Just thought I would share my most recent pre-buy from Irving on propane.

This year they are quoting $2.89 vs $2.29 from last year.

Just to put this into perspective, if I had to pre-buy a full 1,500 gallons (as we did last year) – that would have cost me $4,335.00 (cash up front) to heat my home.

I have all but replaced 500 gallons (used to heat my hot water) with my pellet stove.

So at $289 x 1,000 gallons = $2,890 is my savings from Irving.

Minus the cost of 6 tons (say $250 per ton) to heat this year =  $1,500

Gives me a net savings of $2,890 – $1,500 = $1,390

Gotta love pellets!

-Paul, new stove owner in 2011

Leave a Reply

